Same song, different versions. A story starting in 2011 and with a release in 2021.

Some songs are just like a decent whiskey… The longer they are stored on a shelf, the better they just get. ‘Just Because (reprise)’ is a song like that. It’s the original take from the 2011 recording sessions at Ukonhattu in Lapland (Finland), but never made it to the actual MUSHER ‘Just Because’ album. Instead, the song got a revise in the 2012 sessions in a more easy-going John Mayer style as the musical energy and the vocal skills of the original track didn’t meet to keep the energy throughout the song. A contribution of a brass section to this song was recorded later in the Netherlands and made it way more powerful, which made it even harder to catch up with steady vocals. The song ended up on the shelf… but not forgotten!

Now it’s 10 years later and there are plenty of reasons to think of why to celebrate! We need a happy track, and it was already there… except for the vocal parts. The lead vocals has been recorded at the Pro Music Studio, where the backings have been recorded by the original drummer and bass player in Lapland.
In short; This is an unexpected MUSHER reunion after ten years, but with a soundtrack to make the world a happier playground! The winter snow cover of the Just Because album (2012) gets a summer sandy version (2021). Have a nice summer… Just because!

René Köhler (vocals, guitar), Antti Rikkilä (drums, percussion, vocals), Lasse Harma (bass, guitar, vocals), José de Bloois (vocals), Joris Moolenaar (Trombone), Robert van Goethem (Trumpet, Flugelhorn).

Link to the track:

Schermafbeelding 2015-10-21 om 00.39.48

24.06.16 – 21:30 – 23:00; Musher concert at the ‘Noorderlicht café’ outdoor stage at NDSM werf (Amsterdam-Noord). Free entrance. More info: Noorderlicht

24.10.15 – 23:00 – 0:15; Musher concert at the ‘Noorderlicht café’ stage at NDSM werf (Amsterdam-Noord). Free entrance. More info: Noorderlicht

Schermafbeelding 2015-10-21 om 00.39.48





This time, the guys from ‘Below Sea Level’ obviously are the Dutch edition of MUSHER. Tom Marcelis, Jeroen Pos and Ron Peereboom Voller have managed to create a true, but slightly different MUSHER sound to the songs of René Köhler. The EP is recorded at the Pro Music Studio in Eemnes by Richard Poot.

Different from the earlier albums this EP is more roots-pop orientated. Great music for playing at your car stereo!

Available at all the digital music stores worldwide! But you don’t want to miss out on the real thing, with great artwork…

You can order the album:






People of Finland are asking for MUSHER songs in their bar, club, hotel, restaurant, shop or ski field. For that reason Maestro decided to contact us to deliver them our music.

Maestro is computer based program which plays the right kind of music at the right moment. It’s also suitable for karaoke, web radio and video material.

We are happy to join the Maestro club!

Musher in Maestro music system








In Lapland days are getting shorter now. Mushers are starting to train their dogs and winter will be back in only a few weeks. Time for the sound of silence, howling dogs…and MUSHER!

The second single taken from the new MUSHER album “Just because” is out now! After the first single “Everybody knows” has reached the top 10 in the Dutch Indie charts. It’s time now to get introduced with the Bo Diddley-like tunes of the song “Jacky”.

Follow the link and start to move!

New MUSHER single “Jacky” is now available as a free download!MUSHER at Tajukangas

Schermafbeelding 2013-08-04 om 13.08.47

After 5 weeks in the Free40 Dutch Indie charts, the first MUSHER single “Everybody knows” has entered the top 10 on #9. The song is taken from the new “Just Because” album.

You can follow the charts by

After the succesful debut album of Musher’s “The Ukonhattu Sessions” from 2009, it is now time to present you the new album “Just Because”.

Recorded during the Midnight summer period of 2012 in the old lumberjack lodge Ukonhattu at Pyhä (Lapland) by Visku Väisänen.

Featuring: René Köhler (vocals, guitar), Antti Riikilä (drums) & Lasse Harma (bass)


The album contains 10 own new songs, except for the cover song “If you’re looking for love” by John-Peter Lemström (Petsku). All songs are combined in a large variety of musical styles, but with the characteristic Musher sound.

Meanwhile the album is available at iTunes, Spotify and Amazon in the digital version. You can order your own copy of the album at